[Home] [About the Society] [Society History] [Resources] [Find Us] [Membership] [Notice Board] [Journals] [Other Publications] [Gravestone Inscriptions] [Past Lectures] [Ancient Monuments] [Photo Archive] [Links] [Message Board] [Guest Book]


The Society

The Creggan Local History Society was formed in 1985 with the objective of collecting and distributing information on all aspects of the history of the Creggan Parish in particular and of South Armagh in general by-

  1. The publication of an historical journal.
  2. Sponsoring at least one annual historical lecture.
  3. Providing an archive of historical material for public consultation
  4. Co-operating with other Societies engaged in like work

To date (2003) we have published ten journals and a number of other publications. We have an extensive archive of documentary and photographic material which is available for research by schools and others interested in the history of the area.

Officers 2014-2015 Click link for Photo
Patron Very Rev Canon John Kearney
Chairperson Mrs Mary Cumiskey
Vice-Chairperson Mr Tony Kieran
Secretary Mrs Geraldine Hanratty
Treasurer Mr Michael McShane
The Society can be contacted through the Secretary at -
Creggan Local History Society
Áras an Chairdinéil Ó Fiaich
Slatequarry Road
Co Armagh
BT35 0JH
Telephone: (028 3086 8757)..or e-mail us at info@cregganhistory.co.uk